Build your hiding places

or / and buy them

Always use to paste your hiding places or other decorative items of special glue , special aquarium silicone or silicone neutral (not putty I have good writing often transparent silicone or never white black it contains additives office) without additives so if there has an anti-fungal not even worth it. If in doubt for beginners take the safest if you are unsure. These hiding places are made either with coconuts or 10 cm diameter pvc pipes. covered with sand or pebbles but always special aquarium silicone to hold the elements. the bottom of the pipe has been cut and sanded here, but you can very well leave it whole. Alternatively, drill multiple holes, using a drill, your pipe so you can attach moss, riccia or other plants by passing the fixing wires from one hole to another

Nathalie C

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Nathalie C

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Nothing prevents you from covering your hiding places with vegetation for a very discreet appearance, the hiding place will be hidden.

Nathalie C

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

I also nested two coconuts one inside the other to offer a more spacious hiding place, by making holes in the bottom of one of the two. Above all, remember to boil the coconuts and pebbles well, wash the sand and the pipes well. Sand each edge of the pipes or coconut, because your axos have a very tender skin, without scales to protect it, and a very fragile veil.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Nathalie C

It is also very easy to cover a pvc pipe with pebbles.

Nathalie C

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Nathalie C

Thanks to Julie Mbw for sharing her photos with us for making a hiding place:

Cover a tupperware (plastic intended for food use) with pebbles purchased as you wish in a garden center, etc.
Glue these pebbles with special aquarium silicone. Practice the opening (s) before gluing them.

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Here is a brilliant invention !! With a food-grade plastic allowing its immersion in our aquariums without danger. Well obviously not to go into kitsch decoration but if possible using natural colors (achievable thanks to the primary colors available on the links below. Do not make creations that are too small so that your axolotls cannot ingest them and suffocate them with or risk an occlusion! You are free to create or repair whatever you want in your aquarium!

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

(Click on the images to be redirected to the merchant site)

plastique modelable décos aquarium
colorant plastique moulable

Hiding places and decorations on purchase

(Click on the images to be redirected to the merchant site)

Fabriquez vos cachettes

ou/et les acheter

Utilisez toujours pour coller vos cachettes ou autres objets décoratifs de la colle spécifiquesilicone spécial aquarium ou une silicone neutre (pas mastic j ai bien écris silicone souvent transparente ou noir jamais blanche elle contient des additifs d'office) sans additifs donc si il y a un anti-fongique même pas la peine. Dans le doute pour les débutants prenez le plus sûr si vous hésitez. Ces cachettes sont faites soit avec des noix de coco, soit des tuyaux pvc de 10 cm diamètre. recouvertes de sables ou galets mais toujours silicone spéciale aquarium pour maintenir les éléments. le bas du tuyau a été coupé et poncé ici, mais vous pouvez très bien le laisser entier. Autre possibilité, percer de multiples trous, à l'aide d'une perceuse, votre tuyau ainsi vous pourrez y attacher de la mousse, riccia ou d autres plantes en passant les fils de fixation d'un trou à l'autre 

Nathalie C

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Nathalie C

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Rien n'empêche de recouvrir vos cachettes de végétation pour un aspect très discret, la cachette sera dissimulée.

Nathalie C

J'ai également emboité deux noix de coco l'une dans l'autre pour offrir une cachette plus spacieuse, en trouant le fond d'une des deux. Pensez surtout à bien faire bouillir les noix de coco, les galets, bien laver le sable, les tuyaux. Poncer chaque bord des tuyaux ou noix de coco, car vos axos ont une peau toute tendre, sans écailles pour la protéger, et un voile très fragile. 

Nathalie C

Recouvrir un tuyau en pvc de galets est également très simple.

Nathalie C

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Nathalie C

Merci à Julie Mbw d'avoir partagé avec nous ses photos pour la confection d'une cachette  :

Recouvrir un tupperware (plastique destiné à un usage alimentaire) de galets achetés selon votre gré en jardinerie, etc.
Coller ces galets avec de la silicone spéciale aquarium. Pratiquez la ou les ouvertures avant de coller ces derniers.  

fabriquer cachettes pour axolotls

Voici une invention géniale !! Avec un plastique alimentaire permettant son immersion dans nos aquariums sans danger. Bon évidemment pas pour partir dans la décoration kitch mais si possible en utilisant des couleurs naturelles (réalisables grâce aux couleurs primaires disponibles sur les liens ci-dessous. Ne réalisez pas de créations trop petites afin que vos axolotls ne puissent les ingérer et s'étouffer avec ou bien risquer une occlusion! Libres à vous de créer, ou réparer tout ce qu'il vous plaira dans votre aquarium ! 

(Cliquez sur les images pour être redirigé vers le site marchand)

plastique modelable décos aquarium
colorant plastique moulable

Cachettes et décos à l'achat

(Cliquez sur les images pour être redirigé vers le site marchand)

site axolotls et cie

© 2013-2019 www.axolotls-cie.com

Toute reproduction du site, partielle ou complète, est interdite sans l'expresse autorisation de l'auteur.