"RED LEGS"

OR RED PAW SYNDROME

CAUSES

The "red leg" syndrome is a common infection in amphibians (anurans and urodeles). This pathology is recognized by the redness of the legs and / or the abdomen of the amphibian and is generally due to the bacteria: Aeromonas hydrophila, an opportunistic bacterial pathogen. But other bacteria have been identified that can cause this pathology: in particular Pseudomonas, Proteus, Citrobacter, Salmonella and Escherichia coli. It has also been suggested that Chlamydia-like organisms and even certain viruses could cause red leg disease. Newly acquired malnourished amphibians that are kept in poor water quality or overcrowded, are particularly susceptible to 'red leg' syndrome, spoiled food, exposure to toxins such as pesticides are also factors. of this disease. Several animals are usually affected if they are housed in the same area.

SYMPTOMS

The redness of the amphibian's legs and abdomen is caused by the dilation (or stretching) of the capillaries under its skin. The amphibian may even begin to bleed from the muscles, tongue, or “third eyelid,” (a protective skin fold under the amphibian's eyes). Other symptoms that may be observed include:

  • Anemia

  • Lethargy

  • Extreme weight loss

  • Open sores on the skin, nose, and toes that do not heal

  • Ascites (accumulation of fluid in the abdominal cavity)

DIAGNOSTIC

Your veterinarian will look for signs of generalized infection, which may include inflammation or localized dead cells in the liver, spleen, and other abdominal organs. Blood or body fluid tests to check for the presence of the organism causing the infection are also done.

As other axolotls are at risk of being affected, it is good that they receive antibiotics for prevention.

Even with treatment, many affected animals will die from this disease. Its course can be so rapid that by the time the animal shows signs of disease, considerable irreversible damage has occurred to internal organs.

"RED LEGS"

OU LE SYNDROME DE LA PATTE ROUGE

CAUSES

Le syndrome de la "patte rouge" est une infection répandue chez les  amphibiens ( anoures et urodèles). Cette pathologie se reconnaît à la rougeur des pattes  et/ou de l'abdomen de l' amphibien et est généralement due à la bactérie : Aeromonas hydrophila, un pathogène bactérien opportuniste. Mais d'autres bactéries ont été identifié pouvant causer cette pathologie : notamment  Pseudomonas , Proteus , Citrobacter , Salmonella et Escherichia coli . Il a également été suggéré que des organismes ressemblant à Chlamydia et même certains virus pourraient provoquer la maladie de la jambe rouge. Les amphibiens sous-alimentés récemment acquis qui sont maintenus dans une eau de mauvaise qualité ou en surpeuplement, sont particulièrement susceptibles de contracter le syndrome de «jambe rouge», une  nourriture avariée, une exposition à des toxines telles que des pesticides sont également des facteurs de cette maladie. Plusieurs animaux sont généralement affectés s'ils sont hébergés dans la même zone.

SYMPTÔMES

La rougeur des jambes et de l'abdomen de l'amphibien est causée par la dilatation (ou l'étirement) des capillaires situées sous sa peau. L'amphibien peut même commencer à saigner des muscles, de la langue ou de la «troisième paupière», (un repli cutané protecteur sous les yeux de l'amphibien). Les autres symptômes pouvant être observés incluent:

  • Anémie

  • Léthargie

  • Perte de poids extrême

  • Plaies ouvertes sur la peau, le nez et les orteils qui ne guérissent pas

  • Ascite (accumulation de liquide dans la cavité abdominale )

DIAGNOSTIC

Votre vétérinaire recherchera des signes d'infection généralisée, pouvant inclure une inflammation ou des cellules mortes localisées dans le foie, la rate et d'autres organes abdominaux. Des analyses de sang ou de fluides corporels visant à détecter la présence de l'organisme causant l'infection sont également effectuées. 

Les autres axolotls risquant d'être atteints il est bon qu'ils reçoivent des antibiotiques en prévention.

Même avec un traitement, de nombreux animaux atteints mourront de cette maladie. Son évolution peut être si rapide qu’au moment où l’animal présente des signes de maladie, des lésions irréversibles considérables sont survenues aux organes internes.

site axolotls et cie

© 2013-2019 www.axolotls-cie.com

Toute reproduction du site, partielle ou complète, est interdite sans l'expresse autorisation de l'auteur.