GENETIC

Consanguinity?

(at the bottom of the page)

Axolotl color is generated by three different types of cells which can cause various color mutations in their interaction.

• Melanophore:Cell that stores melanin which is a dark pigment (Melanos = black).

• Xanthophore:Xanthophores are yellow pigment cells; it is a yellowish chromatophore (Xanthos = yellow).

• Iridophore:An iridophore distinguishes a cell endowed with iridescence possibilities, like a chromatophore (Iridios = brilliant).All genes have two alleles. The alleles can be dominant or recessive or even intermediate.

Wild type: The wild type Axolotl contains all three types of pigment cells. The dark color is due to the melanophores. With the xanthophore gene it becomes ocher or dark green, its color may vary depending on the individual depending on the concentration of pigments. The shiny spots, especially in the tail and dorsal veil are caused by iridophores. The cooper is a wild one without black pigments. As the gene is dominant for the expression of all types of pigments, all axolotls have it in their phenotype. The most important range of color is found in the wild type which has all the genes (from yellow to purple to green to gray. 8-)

WILD
axolotl sauvage, wild
MELANICS

Melanistic axolotls can be white, gray, and black. In their skin the iridophores have not formed so the silvery sheen is removed. Their eyes are completely dark without irises and / or dull like with melanic albinos. The skin is also matte in color.

melanique noir, axolotl
axolotl noir, melanique noir

Black melanic

Albino melanic

albinos mélanique, axolotl albinos

Animals that do not produce melanophores or iridophores, homozygous with a slight tint of yellow by the xanthophore present in it.

AXANTHICS

Albino axanthic

axanthique albinos

They are white, but may have a slight metallic sheen. They lack melanophores and xanthophores, so only the iridophore remains present. So homozygous.

axolotl axanthique, gris

Axanthic gray

axanthique dalmatien, axolotl axanthique

Axanthic axolotls lack the xanthophore gene. However, they do not differ much from very dark wild types as the concentration of melanin can be very pronounced individually. This phenotype probably cannot be determined with certainty by backcrossing.

axolotl axanthique, gris
ALBINO

The first type of albino is the white albino. It is homozygous for "d" and "a" (d / d and a / a). Presence of iridophores (shiny pigment cells) in its gills. White albinos have very white skin and red eyes with red gills. NB: Many of our white albinos do not have iridophores so they are in fact axantic albinos. Which will turn a little yellow over the years. The second type of albino is the axanthic albino. It has normal pigment cell migration, but is homozygous for the albino gene and the axanthic gene (a / a and ax / ax), which means it lacks the melanophores, xanthophores and iridophores. It is almost matte white, but turns yellow with age due to the buildup of riboflavins in its diet. The third type is the melanistic albino. It is homozygous for "m" and "a" (m / ma / a). While a non-albino melanist would be black, the combination of melanism and albinism "removes" all pigments except a tiny hint of yellow xanthophores on the head and back. The fourth type of albino is the golden albino, the gold: The Phenotype is albino A / A (missing melanophores). There are several different types of albino axolotl phenotype. Here are a few of them. albino gold (D / D a / a or D / da / a). It has undergone normal migration of its pigment cells, but lacks melanophores, hence the appearance of yellow / gold. Gold Albinos are golden yellow with yellow eyes and red gills. The dark pigment of melanophores is missing, the characteristics of other pigments are normal. Homozygous for one, can be homo or heterozygous for the remaining genes. This color variation was made possible by a cross with the tiger salamander in the lineage of the axolotl, since no Axolotl was known to lack melanophores. This sort of color is also known as "Humphrey Axolotl" (name of the scientist who first created this cross).

gold, axolotl jaune
axolotls gold, albinos doré, axolotl jaune

GOLD

WHITE ALBINOS

axolotl blanc, axolotl albinos

LEUCISTIC

axolotl leucistique, axolotl blanc

To make matters even more confusing, there is another characteristic that has nothing to do with the presence of pigments. Harlequin: the pigments disperse in the skin, but a fourth gene is active, called D. Is it defective? Or is there an incomplete distribution of pigments? In any case all the pigment cells, such as xanthophores, Iridophores or melanophores remain along the anterior neural crest of the embryo, where they were formed and do not migrate to other regions of the body as usual. It has a white body, but dark eyes and is very often pigmented on the back or on the head ("freckles"). With special shapes, the harlequin has strong pigmentation on the head and gills. Summary : Axolotls undergo a lot of color variation Breeders often produce singular offspring whose phenotype defies the genotype of the animal.   The axolotls "pie" (and not only on the upper body like a leucistic), the yellow leucistic with black spots, there is also the harlequin with orange and black patches on the body are just a few examples of what chance can present.


But in view of the DNA of axolotl all colors are possible in the offspring as long as there have been crosses. So we will see new colors coming.




Scientific genetic aspect (more complex part):
The color of axolotl depends on pigment cells called chromatophores. These cells are melanophores (containing melanin, a brown-black pigment), xanthophores (containing yellow and red carotenoids, pigments and pteridins) and iridophores (containing Crystalised purines, which impart a brilliant iridescence).
Each axolotl cell, as shown above, contains 14 pairs of chromosomes. Each characteristic of animals is encoded by genes on pairs of chromosomes. Genes for pigment cells are inherited independently of each other, and there is no known link to other genes. Thus, each type of pigment is encoded by two different genes, one on each of the pairs of chromosomes. These contrasting genes which code for the same characteristic are known as alleles. A pair of alleles is written like this: X / x. An uppercase letter means the gene is a dominant gene, as opposed to a lowercase letter, which means the gene is recessive.
For example, the allele that controls albinism could be found in an axolotl in one of the following combinations: A / A, A / A, or A / A. If the animal was A / a, because a is recessive and A is dominant, the animal's phenotype would not be albino, but it would carry the albinism gene (because it has an "a"). Since it carries both "A" and "a", it is known as "heterozygous". If the animal had the A / A combination, its phenotype would not be albino, and it would not carry the albinism gene (the two genes being the same, it is called "homozygous" for "A") . If it were homozygous for "a" (that is -a / a), the animal's phenotype would be albino. Since "a" is recessive, both alleles must be "a" for albinism to be expressed in the phenotype. Results of albinism: a lack of melanin (the dark pigment). In axolotls, it also causes an increase in the number of xanthophores (yellow pigment cells).
In the same way that A / led to a lack of melanin, m / m (melanoid) results in a lack of iridophores. These animals are very dark, with no reflection (light) pigment cells. M / m or M / M would result in the development of iridophores normally. Animals homozygous for "ax" (ie ax / AX) are axanthic, meaning that they have no visible xanthophores or iridophores. These animals are almost as dark as the melanic ones. Animals homozygous for both albino and axanthic gene appear to be slightly off-white (yellowish). The following table summarizes the color genes

génétique axolotls

With a few exceptions, fertilization of urodeles is internal: the spermatozoa, contained in a spermatophore deposited by the male, are seized by the cloacal lips of the female. When hatching, the larvae attach themselves temporarily using "pendulums" whose ends produce an adhesive secretion. They have dorsal and caudal swimming ridges and special dentition. They breathe by means of three branchial tufts. The forelimbs develop before the hindquarters. Elimination of metamorphosis can be achieved by direct development which suppresses the aquatic free larval phase or by neotenia which eliminates the terrestrial phase.

The aquatic larval phase is thus completely suppressed in Salamandra atra, which is viviparous. An egg hatches in each oviduct as a larva with pendulums, lateral line organs and gills. The larva first feeds on the yolk of neighboring aborted eggs, then it connects with the wall of the oviduct through the external gills and is released at the end of its development.

In neotenic species, metamorphosis usually does not occur: larval characters persist throughout life, as well as the aquatic way of life. Neotenia is a specific trait that is almost definitively fixed in the classic case of axolotl, which only very rarely undergoes metamorphosis in its natural habitat. Thyroid treatment makes it possible to obtain metamorphosed individuals, because axolotl is only the neotenic larva of Ambystoma tigrinum. The causes of this facultative neotenia are poorly understood: quantitative insufficiency of thyroid secretion or poor tissue reactivity?

CONSANGUINITY

"In all the sexual species, that is to say all the species which mix the genetic capital of the male and the female to give an original individual, consanguinity increases the risk of seeing the appearance of so-called recessive genetic diseases (cystic fibrosis in man for example).
A recessive gene is a gene that does not express itself when it is present on only one out of two chromosomes. If it is present on both, the disease is expressed. Inbreeding increases the risk of seeing this gene present on the chromosomes provided by the mother and the father.
On the other hand, a priori, consanguinity does not make children more fragile or weaker if there is no specific genetic disease associated. There are many animal breeds from a very small number of initial parents and which do not suffer from this inbreeding (which must be distinguished from the defects selected precisely to create the breed in question). As a classic example, the English Thoroughbred breed in horses originated from three original males.
If one could prove that such a species does not present any recessive genetic disease (difficult to prove), inbreeding would not pose any problem to this species.
To my knowledge, in axolotl, no genetic disease has been demonstrated. Which doesn't mean there isn't ...
When in doubt in humans, many states prohibit marriages between first cousins. The practice is common in many other places.
When in doubt, in breeding, we try to avoid things that are too "shady" such as crosses between parents and young, brothers and sisters.
                                                                                                                                                                        

Dr Larroquette (Castres Tarn veterinary clinic)

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

To summarize: reproduction, for example between amphibian siblings, can on beautiful and strong strains (for this you need to know the genetic heritage) give beautiful babies carrying the best of both, or reinforce a genetic disorder. So before playing the sorcerer's apprentice it is absolutely necessary to know the genetic heritage of his axolotls, or other urodeles and to keep only the strongest and healthy ones. When in doubt, refrain ...

The Urodeles are represented by the current Amphibians which, in the adult state, typically have two pairs of motor limbs and a tail: thus newts, salamanders. Their lacertiform body is easily distinguished from that of lizards by bare skin, always devoid of scales. The front and back legs are roughly the same size. Their role in swimming is weak. On land, urodeles walk awkwardly with lateral body waves. When the development of the egg is complete, the majority of urodeles go through a free aquatic stage during which the animal moves and feeds. During this larval life, practically simultaneous processes of growth and regression take place which constitute metamorphosis.

We must insist on the important role of urodeles in experimental research: it is on the newt egg that H. Spemann demonstrated the phenomenon of induction; it is on this same germ that the experiments of separation of the first two blastomeres, of androgenesis or development controlled by the spermatic nucleus alone, and of increase in the number of chromosomal stocks (artificial polyploidy) by the thermal shock action. We must also mention the use of Urodeles larvae to carry out Siamese grafts, or parabiosis, to create intergeneric chimeras (Houillon's triton-axolotl chimeras), to operate complete and definitive transformations of the sex (as did Humphrey in axolotl and Gallienus in pleurodel).

Anatomy

Skeleton

The skull of urodeles is broadly similar to that of anurans . However, the frontal and parietal bones remain separate, the palatines are absent or united with the vomers, and the maxillae may be missing. The vertebrae are amphicoels or opisthocoels. They are characterized by the presence of long rib supports, often double.

(Source Universalis)

GENETIQUE

La couleur de l’Axolotl est générée par trois différents types de cellules qui peuvent causer diverses mutations de couleur dans leur interaction.

 

• Mélanophore : Cellule qui stocke la mélanine qui est un pigment de couleur sombre (Melanos = noir).

 

• Xanthophore :Les xanthophores sont des cellules pigmentaires de couleur jaune; c'est un chromatophore jaunâtre (Xanthos = jaune).

 

• Iridophore : Un iridophore distingue une cellule dotée de possibilités d'iridescence, comme un chromatophore.(Iridios = brillant). Tous les gènes ont deux allèles. Les allèles peuvent être dominantes  ou récessives ou bien encore intermédiaires.

Type sauvage : L’Axolotl  de type sauvage contient les trois types de cellules pigmentées. La couleur foncée est dûe aux mélanophores. Avec le gène  xanthophore il devient ocre ou vert de couleur foncée, sa couleur peut varier selon les individus en fonction de la concentration des pigments. Les taches brillantes, en particulier dans la queue et le voile dorsal sont causées par les iridophores.Le cooper est un sauvage sans pigments noirs. Comme le gène est dominant pour l'expression de tous les types de pigments , tous les axolotls  l’ont dans leur phénotype. La gamme la plus importante de couleur se trouve dans le type sauvage qui possède tous les gènes (du jaune au pourpre au vert au gris.  8-) 

SAUVAGES
MELANIQUES

Les axolotls mélaniques peuvent être blancs, gris et noirs . Dans leur peau les iridophores ne se sont pas formés  de sorte que l'éclat argenté est supprimé. Leurs  yeux sont complètement sombres sans iris et/ou mats comme pour les albinos mélaniques. La peau est aussi de couleur mate.

Mélaniques noirs

Mélanique albinos 

albinos mélanique, axolotl albinos

Les animaux qui ne produisent ni mélanophores ni  iridophores, homozygotes avec une légère teinte de jaune par le xanthophore qui lui est présent.

AXANTHIQUES

Axanthique albinos

Ils sont blancs, mais avoir un léger lustre métallique. Ils leur manquent mélanophores et xanthophores, de sorte que seul l’iridophore reste présent. Donc  homozygotes.

Axanthique gris

axanthique dalmatien, axolotl axanthique

Les axolotls axanthiques n’ont pas le gène  xanthophore. Cependant, ils ne diffèrent guère de types sauvages très sombres car la concentration de mélanine peut être très prononcée individuellement. Ce phénotype ne peut probablement être déterminé avec certitude par rétrocroisement.

ALBINOS

Le premier type d’albinos est l'albinos blanc. Il est homozygote pour "d" et "a" (d / d et a / a). Présence des iridophores (cellules pigmentaires brillantes) dans ses branchies. Les albinos blancs ont la peau très blanche et les yeux rouges avec branchies rouges.NB : Beaucoup de nos albinos blancs n’ont pas d’iridophores donc il s’agit en fait d’albinos axantiques. Qui seront amenés à jaunir un peu avec les années.Le deuxième type d’albinos est l'albinos axanthique. Il a la migration des cellules de pigment normal, mais est homozygote pour le gène albinos et le gène axanthique (a / a et ax / hache), ce qui signifie qu'il lui manque les mélanophores, xanthophores et iridophores. Il est presque blanc mat, mais devient jaune avec l'âge en raison de l'accumulation de riboflavines de son régime alimentaire.Le troisième type est l'albinos mélanique. Il est homozygote pour "m" et "a" (m / m a / a). Alors qu'un mélanique non albinos serait noir, la combinaison du mélanisme et de l'albinisme "supprime" tous les pigments, sauf un petit soupçon de xanthophores jaunes sur la tête et le dos. Le quatrième type d'albinos est l'albinos doré, le gold :   Le Phénotype est albinos A / A (mélanophores manquant). Il existe plusieurs types de phénotype différent-axolotl albinos. Voici quelques-uns d'entre eux. l'albinos or (D / D a / a ou D / da / a). Il a subi une migration normale de ses cellules pigmentaires, mais manque de mélanophores, d'où l'apparition de  jaune/or. Les Albinos gold sont jaunes dorés avec des yeux jaunes et des branchies rouges. Le pigment sombre des mélanophores est manquant, les caractéristiques des autres pigments sont normales. Homozygote pour un, peut être homo ou hétérozygote pour les gènes restants. Cette variation de couleur a été rendue possible par un croisement avec la salamandre tigrée dans la lignée de l'axolotl, puisque aucun Axolotl n’était connu pour manquer de mélanophores. Cette sorte de couleur est également connue comme « Humphrey Axolotl »  (nom du scientifique qui a créé ce croisement pour la première fois). 

gold, axolotl jaune
axolotls gold, albinos doré, axolotl jaune

GOLD

ALBINOS BLANC

LEUCISTIQUE

Pour rendre les choses encore plus confuses,  il y a une autre caractéristique qui n'a rien à voir avec la présence de pigments. L'arlequin : les pigments se dispersent dans la peau, mais un quatrième gène est actif, que l'on nomme D. Est-il défectueux ? Ou bien il y a-t-il une répartition des pigments incomplète ? En tout cas toutes les cellules pigmentaires, comme les  xanthophores, Iridophores ou mélanophores restent le long de la crête neurale antérieure de l'embryon, où ils ont été formés et ne migrent pas dans les autres régions  du corps comme habituellement. Il a  un corps blanc, mais les yeux sombres et est pigmenté très souvent sur le dos ou sur la tête («taches de rousseur"). Avec des formes spéciales, l'arlequin a une forte pigmentation de la tête et des branchies. Résumé : Les axolotls subissent beaucoup de variations de couleurs. Les éleveurs produisent souvent une progéniture singulière dont le phénotype défie le génotype de l’animal.  Les axolotls « pie » (et pas seulement sur le haut du corps comme un leucistique), le leucistique  jaune avec des taches noires, il y a aussi  l'arlequin avec patches oranges et noirs sur le corps ne sont que quelques exemples de ce que le hasard peut présenter. 

génétique axolotls

                                                                      
Mais au vu de l’ADN de l’axolotl toutes les couleurs sont possibles dans la descendance pour peu qu’il y ait eu des croisements. Ainsi nous verrons de nouvelles couleurs arriver.



   
Aspect génétique scientifique  (partie plus complexe) :  
La couleur de l’axolotl dépend des cellules pigmentaires appelées chromatophores. Ces cellules sont mélanophores (contenant la mélanine, un pigment brun-noir), xanthophores (contenant des caroténoïdes, des pigments et des ptéridines jaunes et rouges) et iridophores (contenant purines Crystalised, qui confèrent une irisation brillante).
Chaque cellule de l’axolotl, comme indiqué ci-dessus, contient 14 paires de chromosomes. Chaque caractéristique des animaux est codée par des gènes sur des paires de chromosomes. Les gènes pour les cellules pigmentaires sont hérités indépendamment l'un de l'autre, et il n'y a pas de lien connu à d'autres gènes. Ainsi, chaque type de pigments est codé par deux gènes différents, un sur chacune des paires de chromosomes. Ces gènes contrastées qui codent pour la même caractéristique sont connus comme allèles. Une paire d'allèles est écrit comme ceci: X / x. Une lettre majuscule signifie que le gène est un gène dominant, par opposition à la lettre minuscule, ce qui signifie que le gène est récessif.
Par exemple, l'allèle qui contrôle l'albinisme pourrait être trouvée dans un axolotl dans l'une des combinaisons suivantes: A / A, A / A ou A / A. Si l'animal était A / a, parce que a est récessif et A est dominant, le phénotype de l'animal ne serait pas albinos, mais il serait porteur du gène de l'albinisme (car il a un "a"). Étant donné qu'il transporte à la fois "A" et "a", il est connu comme «hétérozygote». Si l'animal avait l'A / Une combinaison, son phénotype ne serait pas albinos, et il ne serait pas porteur le gène de l'albinisme (les deux gènes étant le même, il est appelé "homozygote" pour "A"). S’ il était homozygote pour "a" (c’est -a / a), le phénotype de l'animal serait albinos. Depuis "a" est récessif, les deux allèles doivent être "a" pour que l'albinisme s’exprimer dans le phénotype. Résultats de albinisme : un manque de mélanine (le pigment foncé). Chez les axolotls, elle entraîne également une augmentation du nombre de xanthophores (cellules pigmentaires jaunes).
De la même manière que A / a conduit à un manque de mélanine, m / m (mélanoïde) se traduit par un manque d’iridophores. Ces animaux sont très sombres, sans cellules pigmentaires de réflexion (de la lumière). M / m ou M / M se traduirait par le développement d’iridophores normalement. Les animaux homozygotes pour "hache" (c.-à-ax / AX) sont axanthique, ce qui signifie qu'ils n’ont pas de xanthophores ou d’ iridophores visibles. Ces animaux sont presque aussi sombres que les mélaniques. Les animaux homozygotes pour le gène à la fois albinos et axanthique semblent être légèrement blanc cassé (jaunâtre). Le tableau suivant résume les gènes de couleur.

CONSANGUINITE

"Dans toutes les espèces sexuées, c'est-à-dire toutes les espèces qui mélangent le capital génétique du mâle et de la femelle pour donner un individu original, la consanguinité augmente le risque de voir apparaître des maladies génétiques dites récessives (mucoviscidose chez l'homme par exemple).
Un gène récessif est un gène qui ne s'exprime pas quand il n'est présent que sur un seul chromosome sur deux. S'il est présent sur les deux, la maladie s'exprime. La consanguinité augmente le risque de voir ce gène présent sur les chromosomes apportés par la mère et par le père.
Par contre, a priori, la consanguinité ne rend pas les enfants plus fragiles ou plus faibles s'il n'y a pas de maladie génétique précise associée. Il existe de nombreuses races animales issues d'un très petit nombre de géniteurs de départ et qui ne souffrent pas de cette consanguinité (qu'il faut distinguer des tares sélectionnées justement pour créer la race en question). Comme exemple classique, la race pur-sang anglais chez les chevaux est issue de trois mâles originels.
Si on pouvait prouver que telle espèce ne présente aucune maladie génétique récessive (difficile à prouver), la consanguinité ne poserait aucun problème à cette espèce.
A ma connaissance, chez l'axolotl, aucune maladie génétique n'a été mise en évidence. Ce qui ne veut pas dire qu'il n'y en a pas...
Dans le doute chez l'homme, de nombreux états interdisent les mariages entre cousins germains. La pratique est courante dans de nombreux autres endroits. 
Dans le doute toujours, en élevage, on essaye d'éviter des trucs trop louches comme des croisements entre parents et petits, frères et sœurs. Je ne sais pas si c'est faisable dans vos aquariums... Ni si c'est vraiment bénéfique.
On rejoint là les idées préconçues. Celles qui font que presque tous les pays ont une région dont les autres prétendent qu'elle est peuplée de consanguins."

                                                                                                                                                                                  Dr Larroquette  (Clinique vétérinaire de Castres Tarn)

Pour résumer : la reproduction par exemple entre frères et soeurs amphibiens peut sur de belles et fortes souches (pour cela il faut connaitre le patrimoine génétique) donner de beaux bébés portant le meilleur des deux, ou bien renforcer un trouble génétique. Donc avant de jouer à l'apprenti sorcier il faut absolument connaitre le patrimoine génétique de ses axolotls, ou autres urodèles et ne garder que les plus forts et sains. Dans le doute  s'abstenir...

site axolotls et cie

© 2013-2019 www.axolotls-cie.com

Toute reproduction du site, partielle ou complète, est interdite sans l'expresse autorisation de l'auteur.