Size of the aquarium?

The choice is multiple whether in specialized stores or on sales sites between individuals. You must first identify how many axolotls you want. Two or three? Or who knows maybe more depending on your favorites over time! Because this is an exciting world. Lots of measurements are given, but some members had to change aquarium to a larger one because their parameters were constantly unstable or they experienced large increases in nitrites (NO2) or nitrates (NO3), so we changed the indicative measurements. Here is a table with benchmark aquarium sizes but if you have two axolotls in a 240 liter they will not be unhappy on the contrary!

Table with minimum recommended space for your axolotls

mesures aquarium pour axolotls

Comfort table

This second table does not correspond to minimum floor space, but on the contrary a large enough living space for your axolotls to stretch their legs, swim vigorously, in short the palace! Obviously the number of axolotls is more or less variable, knowing that some like to perch high on your plants, or conversely some grumpies will need more space than others;)

tableau taille aquarium confort axolotls

Calculation of the liter of your aquarium

If it is rectangle, for example, it measures 1 meter from the front and 40 cm deep for 50 cm high so: 100 x 40 x 50 = 200,000
200,000/1000 = 200 liters
For any calculation of aquariums with domed facades in a circle or ellipse, here is a very useful link: http://www.aqua-passion.com/conversions/index.php
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Installation of the aquarium: places to avoid.

If possible, avoid installing the aquarium near a window: direct light would encourage algae.

Also avoid sources of significant noise (television, hi-fi system, etc.) or locations near a constant crossing point, which is very stressful for axos. Finally, avoid the proximity of a heater or radiator; on the other hand, the aquarium should be in sight: you should not have to twist to admire it!

Place the aquarium well. It must be placed on a very flat surface (check if you can at the spirit level), on a solid piece of furniture (a filled 100 liter aquarium, with the decor and all its equipment can easily weigh 120 kilograms). Furniture designed for aquariums will guarantee you perfect safety. Most manufacturers provide instructions for setting up and some precautions with the aquarium. You can also design your own furniture for this refer to the tip section of the forum.

Check the quality of the joints before filling it with water and make sure that there is no grain of sand stuck between the base of the tank and the cabinet. Because, once put in water, it will not be necessary at any cost to move the filled tank, under penalty of disaster.

Warning: If you are planning to acquire a large aquarium, make sure that your home insurance covers water damage!

Algae in the aquarium

They have been naturally present on the earth for millions of years ... without algae, life as we know it would become impossible. And yes even this little element that we consider undesirable is good. Even a perfectly clean river has algae (but too much would be a sure sign of imbalance and could harm wildlife); leave a glass of water for a while in your garden and sooner or later algae will invite itself in (the spores can travel through the air).

That being said, it is a whole other problem when it comes to a real explosion of algae , which makes the aquarium not only unsightly but which increases maintenance and kills the most beautiful plants! Ideally, algae should be kept under control and in low quantities. Below you will find a series of tips to avoid letting algae take over and keep an aquarium and plants healthy: Place the aquarium as far as possible from direct or excessive natural light (otherwise, can stick a sheet of black paper / cardboard on the side of the aquarium that receives sunlight); Grow plants in your aquarium, if possible fast growing plants to begin with. Indeed, plants compete with algae and absorb excess nitrates and phosphates. Without plants, the algae alone benefit, which can cause them to proliferate. You will see, even with axolotls, a beautiful planted aquarium, it is not rocket science! Avoid overcrowding or aquariums that are too small: it cannot be said enough, but the majority of axolotl tanks are overcrowded or undersized. Result: the loulous produce a high concentration of nitrates and phosphates, which are used as food for algae. For the same reason, you must try to siphon off the remains of pellets and other food 12 hours maximum later (if there is any left, because by dint of knowing the appetite of your residents. prevent the excessive rise of nitrates and especially phosphates. A change of 10 or 15% per week is used on small tanks (less than 150 liters or on tanks with filtration less than 3 times the liter), Otherwise 30% a times a month is enough (make a cross in the calendar). It is also necessary that your tap water is not itself already loaded with nitrates and / or phosphates (organic foams, resins are on sale limiting nitrates , they are installed in the compartments of your filtration), but to be used only if your pipe water already contains too much) Here is the address where you can check the quality of your water:http: // social- sante.gouv.fr/sante-et-environnement/eaux/article/qualite-de-l-ea u-drinkable   if you need help deciphering the results do not hesitate to contact me ( mail ), if this is the case (often in areas of intensive agriculture, use good quality lighting and adjust the duration of lighting: 8 to 12 hours maximum per day is largely sufficient in most cases. Lighting should be adapted to plants (power + light spectrum): for example, strong lighting for plants with slow growth and moderate light needs will inevitably benefit the algae; conversely, if the lighting was too low for the plants, they will let it know, by withering or growing poorly ... which would still benefit the algae. See the lighting section of the forum for more information.

Regularly clean the areas where they develop using an algae squeegee or specific sponge. Anti-nitrate or anti-phosphate resins can significantly reduce their concentration but do not tackle the real causes of the problem. However, if the problem was caused by the excessive presence of nitrates or phosphates in tap water, then this would be an effective solution (another being the use of reverse osmosis water, which will then be re-mineralized with Preis for example. used for discus and does not contain iodine) .The use of chemicals is not recommended because on the one hand it is a short-term solution and can damage plants (algae and plants are very close: it is therefore difficult to get rid of one without harming the other). And on the other hand to banish with our kitties because the components are not assimilated by their liver and can cause them serious damage up to death. The first problem (in aquarium keeping in general) is that algae are often destroyed in a very short time: when rotting, a large amount of nitrates / phosphates are released and the loop is closed! The limitation of this method is above all that it does not correct the causes of the algae problem, but only limits the effects temporarily. A recently filled aquarium will very often tend to develop algae during the very first months and in successive waves, including in a well planted aquarium. Nothing abnormal since the water parameters are not yet well balanced and the plants need time to acclimatize and to properly use the various nutrients present in the water (of which nitrates and phosphates are part) ): during this adaptation phase, it is the algae that benefit from it but this situation should not normally continue and, if the tank is sufficiently planted, the plants should then gradually gain the upper hand and take advantage of their development of a reasonable amount of nitrates and phosphates. Easily have a well-planted aquarium. For a beautiful planted aquarium, it is essential to consider these few parameters: Lighting, Ph, water hardness (kh) and CO2. Remember to check each month (on a well-run vat these parameters).

Maintenance: plants tend to "go up" in search of light. You will need to prune them from time to time to make them more bushy. Water changes are essential: fish produce quantities of nitrates and phosphates and an excessive amount of these elements will not be absorbed by your plants ... but by algae! The aquarium: avoid at all costs the bins too small otherwise the axos will survive at best only 3 or 5 years (instead of fifteen or even more). An aquarium of acceptable size is necessary to keep your axos in good health, as they are "big polluters". Another detail and not the least, dwarfism also exists in the axolotl which in a small space will also be restricted in terms of size but unfortunately its organs will continue to grow and therefore to compress.

(Click on the image to be redirected to the merchant site)

Taille de l'aquarium ?

Le choix est multiple que ce soit en magasins spécialisés ou bien sur des sites de vente entre particuliers.Il faut d'abord identifier combien d'axolotls vous souhaitez. Deux ou trois? Ou qui sait peut être plus selon les coups de coeur au fil du temps ! Car il s'agit d'un monde passionnant que celui-ci. Beaucoup de mesures sont données, mais certains membres ont dû changer d'aquarium pour plus grand car leurs paramètres étaient constamment instables ou ils connaissaient de fortes hausses de nitrites (NO2) ou nitrates (NO3), nous avons donc changé les mesures indicatives. Voici un tableau avec des tailles d'aquarium repères mais si vous avez deux axolotls dans un 240 litres ils ne seront pas malheureux au contraire !

Tableau avec espace minimal conseillé pour vos axolotls

mesures aquarium pour axolotls

Tableau confort

Ce second tableau correspond non pas à des minimas en espace au sol, mais au contraire un assez grand espace de vie pour que vos axolotls se dégourdissent les pattes, nagent vigoureusement, bref le palace ! Evidemment le nombre d'axolotls est plus ou moins variable, sachant que certains aiment se percher en hauteur sur vos plantes, ou bien à l'inverse certains ronchons auront besoin de plus d'espace que d'autres ;)

tableau taille aquarium confort axolotls

Calcul du litrage de votre aquarium

Si il est rectangle, exemple, il mesure 1 mètre de façade et 40 cm de profondeur pour 50 cm de hauteur donc: 100 x 40 x 50 = 200 000
200 000/1000 = 200 litres 
Pour tout calcul d'aquariums avec façades bombés en cercle ou ellipse voici un lien très utile : http://www.aqua-passion.com/conversions/index.php

Installation de l'aquarium : endroits à éviter.

Il faut si possible éviter d'installer l'aquarium près d'une fenêtre : la lumière directe encouragerait les algues.

Eviter aussi les sources de bruit important (télévision, chaîne hi-fi ...) ou les emplacements à proximité d'un point de passage incessant, très stressants pour les axos. Eviter enfin la proximité d'un chauffage ou d'un radiateur.Par contre, l'aquarium devra bien être en vue : on ne devrait pas avoir à se contorsionner pour l'admirer !

Bien placer l'aquarium. Il doit être disposé sur une surface bien plane (vérifier si vous pouvez au niveau à bulle), sur un meuble solide (un aquarium de 100 litres rempli, avec le décor et tous ses équipements peut facilement peser 120 kilogrammes). Les meubles conçus pour les aquariums vous garantiront une parfaite sécurité. La plupart des fabricants fournissent avec l'aquarium une notice sur la façon de l'installer et les quelques précautions à prendre. Vous pouvez également concevoir vous-même votre meuble pour cela reportez-vous à la section astuce du forum.

Vérifiez la qualité des joints avant la mise en eau et assurez-vous qu'il n'y a aucun grain de sable coincé entre la base du bac et le meuble. Car, une fois mis en eau, il ne faudra à aucun prix déplacer le bac rempli, sous peine de catastrophe.

Attention !Si vous envisagez d'acquérir un aquarium de grand volume, assurez-vous que votre assurance habitation couvre les dégâts des eaux! 

Les algues dans l'aquarium

Elles sont naturellement présentes sur la terre depuis des millions d'années ... sans algues, la vie telle que nous la connaissons deviendrait impossible. Et oui même ce petit élément que nous considérons comme indésirable a du bon. Même une rivière parfaitement propre a des algues (mais trop serait un signe certain de déséquilibre et pourrait nuire à la faune); laissez un verre d'eau pendant un certain temps dans votre jardin et, tôt ou tard, les algues s'y inviteront (les spores pouvant voyager dans l'air).

Ceci étant dit, c'est un tout autre problème lorsqu'il s'agit d'une véritable explosion d'algues, qui rendent l'aquarium non seulement inesthétique mais qui alourdissent la maintenance et font mourir les plus belles plantes ! Dans l'idéal, les algues doivent rester sous contrôle et en faible quantité. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une série de conseils pour ne pas laisser les algues prendre le dessus et garder un aquarium et des plantes saines : Placer l'aquarium le plus à l'abri possible de toute lumière naturelle directe ou excessive (à défaut, on peut coller une feuille de papier/carton noir sur le côté de l'aquarium qui reçoit la lumière du soleil) ; Faire pousser des plantes dans votre aquarium, si possible des plantes à croissance rapide pour commencer. En effet, les plantes entrent en compétition avec les algues et absorbent nitrates et phosphates en excès. Sans plantes, ce sont les algues qui seules en profitent, ce qui peut les faire proliférer. Vous verrez, même avec des axolotls, un bel aquarium planté, ce n'est pas sorcier ! Éviter le surpeuplement ou les aquariums trop petits : on ne le dira jamais assez, mais la majorité des bacs à axolotls sont surpeuplés ou sous-dimensionnés. Résultat : les loulous produisent une grande concentration de nitrates et de phosphates, lesquels servent de nourriture aux algues. Pour la même raison, il faut s'efforcer de siphonner les restes de pellets et autre nourriture 12 h maximum après (si reste il y a, car à force on connait l’appétit de ses pensionnaires.Faire des changements d'eau réguliers peut prévenir la montée excessive des nitrates et surtout des phosphates. Un changement de 10 ou 15% par semaine est utilisé sur les petits bacs (inférieurs à 150 litres ou bien sur les bacs à filtration inférieur à 3 fois le litrage), Sinon 30% une fois par mois suffit (faites une croix dans le calendrier  ). Encore faut-il que l'eau de votre robinet ne soit pas elle-même déjà chargée en nitrates et/ou phosphates (des mousses biologiques, résines sont en vente limitant les nitrates, elles s'installent dans les compartiments de votre filtration), mais à n'utiliser que si votre eau de conduite en contient déjà trop) Voici l'adresse à laquelle vous pouvez vérifier la qualité de votre eau : http://social-sante.gouv.fr/sante-et-environnement/eaux/article/qualite-de-l-eau-potable si vous avez besoin d'aide pour décrypter les résultats n'hésitez pas à me contacter (mail), Si c'est le cas (souvent dans des régions d'agriculture intensive.Utiliser un éclairage de bonne qualité et ajuster la durée d'éclairage : 8 à 12 heures maximum par jour suffisent largement dans la plupart des cas. L'éclairage devra être adapté aux plantes (puissance + spectre lumineux) : par exemple, un éclairage fort pour des plantes à croissance lente et aux besoins en lumière modérés profitera inévitablement aux algues ; à l'inverse, si l'éclairage était trop faible pour les plantes, elles le feront savoir, en dépérissant ou en poussant mal ... ce qui profiterait encore aux algues. Consultez la section éclairage du forum pour plus d’informations.

Nettoyer régulièrement à l'aide d'une raclette algues ou éponge spécifique les zones où elles se développent.Les résines anti nitrates ou anti phosphates permettent d'en réduire significativement la concentration mais ne s'attaquent pas aux vraies causes du problème. Toutefois, si le problème était causé par la présence excessive de nitrates ou de phosphates dans l'eau du robinet, ce serait alors une solution efficace (une autre étant l'utilisation d'eau osmosée, qui sera ensuite reminéralisée avec du Preis par exemple utilisé pour les discus et ne contenant pas d’iode).Utiliser des produits chimiques est déconseillé car d’une part c'est une solution à court terme et qui peut endommager les plantes (les algues et les plantes sont très proches : il est donc difficile de se débarrasser de l'un sans nuire à l'autre). Et d’autre part à bannir avec nos loulous car les composants ne sont pas assimilés par leur foie et peuvent leur causer de graves dommages allant jusqu’à la mort. Le premier problème (en aquariophilie en général) est que les algues sont souvent anéanties dans un temps très bref : en pourrissant, une grande quantité de nitrates/phosphates sont relâchés et la boucle est bouclée ! La limite de cette méthode est surtout qu'elle ne corrige pas les causes du problème d'algues, mais limite seulement les effets de manière temporaire. Un aquarium récemment mis en eau aura très souvent tendance à développer des algues pendant les tout premiers mois et par vagues successives, y compris dans un aquarium bien planté. Rien d'anormal puisque les paramètres de l'eau ne sont pas encore bien équilibrés et que les plantes ont besoin de temps pour s'acclimater et pour bien utiliser les divers nutriments présents dans l'eau (dont les nitrates et les phosphates font partie) : pendant cette phase d'adaptation, ce sont les algues qui en profitent mais cette situation ne devrait normalement pas perdurer et, si le bac est suffisamment planté, les plantes devraient ensuite prendre progressivement le dessus et tirer partie pour leur développement d'une quantité raisonnable de nitrates et de phosphates. Avoir facilement aquarium bien planté. Pour un bel aquarium planté, il est essentiel de considérer ces quelques paramètres : L'éclairage, le Ph, la dureté de l'eau (kh) et le CO2. Pensez à vérifier chaque mois (sur un bac bien rôdé ces paramètres).

L'entretien : les plantes ont tendance à "monter" à la recherche de la lumière. Il faudra les tailler de temps en temps pour les rendre plus touffues. Les changements d'eau sont essentiels : les poissons produisent des quantités de nitrates et de phosphates et une quantité excessive de ces éléments ne sera pas absorbée par vos plantes ... mais par les algues !L'aquarium : il faut éviter à tout prix les bacs trop petits sinon les axos ne survivront au mieux que 3 ou 5 années (au lieu d’une quinzaine voire bien plus). Un aquarium de volume acceptable est nécessaire pour garder vos axos en bonne santé, ceux-ci étant de "gros pollueurs". Un autre détail et pas des moindres le nanisme existe aussi chez l’axolotl qui dans un espace réduit se verra lui aussi restreint au niveau taille mais hélas ses organes continueront eux à pousser et donc à se compresser.

(Cliquez sur l' image pour être redirigé vers le site marchand)

site axolotls et cie

© 2013-2019 www.axolotls-cie.com

Toute reproduction du site, partielle ou complète, est interdite sans l'expresse autorisation de l'auteur.