THE NITROGEN CYCLE OR BREAK-IN

ROAD:

means '' Develop gradually ''. Break-in is essential to

survival of your future animals.
This is the process during which the aquarium is prepared for them to live there.
Axolotls are poorly tolerant of chemicals like most starter bacteria and conditioners.
(This being due to the fact that they do not have scales to protect themselves, their skin absorbs everything as well as a liver that does not filter everything ...)
After acquiring your tank / vat, you will have to start this cycle.


Water chemistry
The well-being of fish and plants is closely linked to the quality of the water in which they live. To obtain and maintain suitable water quality,
the aquarist does not have to become a seasoned chemist. However, understanding some basics about the nitrogen cycle, pH, hardness and CO2 is a key to success for the aquarist. This will avoid many of the frustrations that can discourage even the most optimistic.


The nitrogen cycle
The fish in our aquariums release organic waste into the water. To that
In addition, there is the decomposition of plants and surplus food. The
decomposition of nitrogenous products leads to the formation of ammonia (NH3), a
compound highly toxic to most fish. In nature this
This phenomenon is barely perceptible given the immensity of the volume of water involved and the bacterial balance that reigns there. But a tank, however large, represents a drop of water compared to natural expanses. The concentrations
ammonia can reach critical proportions within hours.
Fortunately, there is a biological phenomenon called nitrification which, with the help of aerobic bacteria, converts the highly toxic nitrogen compounds of ammonia (NH3) and nitrites (NO2-) into other nitrogen compounds that are much less toxic, nitrates. (NO3-). This is called the nitrogen cycle.


The principle
Organic waste in the aquarium breaks down into two main nitrogen compounds, ammonium (NH4 +) which is very low in toxicity, and ammonia
(NH3), highly toxic. Subsequently, these compounds will be converted into nitrites
(NO2-) by so-called nitrifying bacteria called nitrosomonas. These nitrites are also excessively toxic to fish. In fact, in an aquarium
balanced, as soon as the nitrite concentration is measurable by the tests of the
trade, we must immediately proceed to a water change (25 to 30%) in order to eliminate them as quickly as possible. Finally, the nitrites will in turn be converted into nitrates (NO3-) by the bacteria of the nitrobacter type. Nitrates, much less toxic than other nitrogen compounds, are only dangerous if they are in too great a concentration in the water. These will be partly assimilated by plants as nutrients, partly transformed into gaseous nitrogen (N2) and other compounds. Another part will remain in the bin. This is why, once the cycle has been established, water changes of 30% of the volume of the tank per month will avoid a too high concentration of nitrates.


How to establish the cycle in an aquarium
When starting an aquarium, the first thing to do is to ensure
the establishment of the nitrogen cycle. To do this, you must first fill your tank with all the elements of the decor, the plants, as well as the water system.
filtration. It is very important that the filtration system contains at least one substrate favoring the establishment of the bacterial colony. (ceramic noodles, pozzolana). It is also important to be able to test and measure the nitrites and nitrates in the tank. These tests are easily available in pet stores and on the internet. It is important not to put fish at this time, because the rise of ammonia and the rise of nitrites that will follow could be fatal for them.
The bacteria necessary for nitrification are present everywhere in
the environment. It is therefore not necessary to add any to start the cycle.
All you have to do is cause the ammonia to rise and the bacteria will naturally colonize the filtration system and the gravel in the tank. A good way to accelerate the rise of ammonia is to put food for axolotls (to avoid the presence of iodine) every two days or so.

rodage aquarium, cycle azote, duree

Once the increase in ammonia obtained (approximately 5 to 10 days), one should observe in the following 7 to 12 days, a disappearance of this accompanied by a rise in nitrites. This means that the colony of nitrosomonas bacteria is installed. It only remains to wait for the colony of nitrobacter bacteria to set up in its turn, which should take another 7-10 days. This will be confirmed by the disappearance of nitrites and the possible appearance of nitrates. The only precise way to see these results is to do nitrite (No2) and nitrate (No3) tests.

Once the cycle has been established, it is now possible to add the fish without too much risk. It is necessary to go there quietly that a few individuals at a time, the bacterial colonies are still very young and would not be enough for the task if too many fish started to pollute the tank. In our case, the introduction of axolotls which, given their size, will cause a rise in nitrites within a few days. During the entire cycle establishment period, no intervention (change of water, cleaning of the bottom and of the filtration masses) must be carried out in the tank, at the risk of considerably slowing down the process. Diagram illustrating the different stages of the nitrification cycle. The abscissa shows a graduated scale in days and the ordinate shows the concentrations in ppm (mg / L). Source: All the Aquarium, Peter Hunnam, Bordas edition, Paris 1982

rodage aquarium, cycle azote, duree
bacteries oase

ACCELERATE THE CYCLE

If you have an already colonized aquarium (whose nitrogen cycle has already been completed), it is possible to add a second filter (the one that will go into the new aquarium) in the already colonized aquarium for a week so that good bacteria settle there. It is also possible to simply transfer some filter media from the already colonized filter into the new filter. It is strongly advised to add decorations and substrate from the colonized aquarium to the new one since the majority of bacteria are maintained on solid supports, and not in the water. Once you have made these changes, you can fill the tray with water and add the filter, substrate, and decorations. The water should be tested every 2/3 days thereafter. (Nitrites tell us that we still have to wait but nitrates are a good sign because they confirm that the aquarium is well run: in fact to transform nitrites into nitrates it is necessary that the nitrobacter bacteria are in place, so there is obviously already had peak of nitrites). Finally, here is a method to be used only when you have to reseed an aquarium after a treatment (after having generally changed 50% of the water in it and then filtered for 5 days on activated carbon, therefore bacteria. . A brand recommended by specialists: Biockik de Oase, (as well as three others here ) used by large aquariums in France and zoos. But just this brand because you will find a lot of them in pet stores, you will only be embarrassed Most are only perlinpinpin powder ... You can find this small jar in pet stores or on the internet for around € 9 (to treat 5000 liters). We respect the doses listed, in order to avoid the effect reverse and pollute his bin.

Put your axolotls in a fairly spacious plastic garment bin type container, and with a daily change of water that will have rested for at least 24 hours in order to dechlorinate it. The ideal is therefore to have two tubs of this type to always have standing water and to change them each day.

I have my axolotls but my aquarium is not finished "prowling" ...

I have an important concern in my aquarium which requires that I take out my axoltols.

Your monthly water changes:

You must change 30% of the volume of your water to reduce the natural pollution due to an enclosed space (the aquarium) in order to evacuate the nitrates (No3) and restore a correct Ph and Gh, it is useless to rest this water during the changes the addition is so minimal that it does not bring enough chlorine into the aquarium, once diluted there is nothing. whereas in an infirmary tank with 100% water there yes it must be allowed to stand and sometimes 48 hours and sometimes put will be there because the chloramine takes 15 days to evaporate ...

LE CYCLE DE L'AZOTE OU RODAGE

RÔDER :

signifie ''Mettre au point de façon progressive''. Le rodage est essentiel à la

survie de vos futurs animaux. 
Il s'agit du processus durant lequel on prépare l'aquarium pour y faire vivre ceux-ci.
Les axolotls tolèrent mal les produits chimiques comme la plupart des bactéries de démarrage et les conditionneurs.
(Ceci étant dû au fait qu'ils n'ont pas d'écailles pour se protéger, leur peau absorbe tout ainsi qu’un foie qui ne filtre pas tout...)
Après l'acquisition de votre cuve/bac, il faudra démarrer ce cycle.


La chimie de l’eau 
Le bien-être des poissons et des plantes est intimement lié à la qualité de l’eau dans laquelle ils évoluent. Pour obtenir et maintenir une qualité d’eau convenable,
l’aquariophile n’a pas à devenir un chimiste chevronné. Cependant, la compréhension de certaines notions de base sur le cycle de l’azote, le pH, la dureté et le CO2 est un gage de succès pour l’aquariophile. Cela évitera bon nombre de frustrations pouvant décourager même les plus optimistes.


Le cycle de l’azote
Les poissons de nos aquariums rejettent des déchets organiques dans l’eau. À cela
s’ajoutent la décomposition des végétaux et du surplus de nourriture. La
décomposition de produits azotés entraîne la formation d'ammoniaque (NH3), un
composé hautement toxique pour la plupart des poissons. Dans la nature ce
phénomène est à peine perceptible compte tenu de l’immensité du volume d’eau en cause et de l’équilibre bactérien qui y règne. Mais un bac, si grand soit-il, représente une goutte d’eau comparé aux étendues naturelles. Les concentrations
d’ammoniaques peuvent atteindre des proportions critiques en quelques heures.
Heureusement, il existe un phénomène biologique appelé nitrification qui convertit à l’aide de bactéries aérobiques les composés azotés hautement toxiques que sont l’ammoniaque (NH3) et les nitrites (NO2-) en d’autres composés azotés beaucoup moins toxiques, les nitrates (NO3-). C’est ce qu’on appelle le cycle de l’azote.


Le principe 
Les déchets organiques présents dans l’aquarium se décomposent en deux principaux composés azotés, l’ammonium (NH4+) qui est très peu toxique, et l’ammoniaque
(NH3), hautement toxique. Par la suite, ces composés seront convertis en nitrites
(NO2-) par des bactéries dites nitrifiantes appelées nitrosomonas. Ces nitrites sont eux aussi excessivement toxiques pour les poissons. En fait, dans un aquarium
équilibré, dès que la concentration de nitrites est mesurable par les tests du
commerce, on doit immédiatement procéder à un changement d’eau (25 à 30%) afin de les éliminer le plus rapidement possible. Finalement, les nitrites seront convertis à leur tour en nitrates (NO3-) par les bactéries de type nitrobacter. Les nitrates, beaucoup moins toxiques que les autres composés azotés, ne sont dangereux que s’ils sont en trop grande concentration dans l’eau. Ceux-ci seront en partie assimilés par les plantes comme nutriments, en partie transformés en azote gazeux (N2) et autres composés. Une autre partie demeurera dans le bac. C’est pourquoi, une fois le cycle établi, des changements d’eau de 30 % du volume du bac par mois éviteront une trop grande concentration de nitrates.


Comment établir le cycle en aquarium 
Lors du démarrage d’un aquarium, la première chose à faire est d’assurer
l’établissement du cycle de l’azote. Pour ce faire, vous devez d’abord mettre en eau votre bac avec tous les éléments du décor, les plantes, ainsi que le système de
filtration. Il est très important que le système de filtration contienne au moins un substrat favorisant l’implantation de la colonie bactérienne. (nouilles ceramique, pouzzolane). Il est important aussi de pouvoir tester, mesurer, les nitrites et les nitrates du bac. Ces tests sont facilement disponibles en animalerie et sur internet. Il ne faut surtout pas mettre de poissons à ce moment, car la montée d’ammoniaque et la montée de nitrites qui suivra pourraient être mortelles pour eux.
Les bactéries nécessaires à la nitrification sont présentes partout dans
l’environnement. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’en ajouter pour démarrer le cycle.
Tous ce que l’on a à faire est de provoquer une montée d’ammoniaque et de façon toute naturelle, les bactéries vont coloniser le système de filtration et le gravier du bac. Un bon moyen pour accélérer la montée d’ammoniaque consiste à mettre de la nourriture pour axolotls (afin d'éviter la présence d'iode) aux deux jours environs. 

Une fois la montée d’ammoniaque obtenue (environ 5 à 10 jours), on devrait observer dans les 7 à 12 jours suivants, une disparition de celle-ci accompagnée d’une montée des nitrites. Ça signifie que la colonie des bactéries nitrosomonas est installée. Il ne reste plus qu’à attendre que la colonie de bactéries nitrobacter s’installe à son tour, ce qui devrait prendre un autre 7 à 10 jours. Le tout sera confirmé par la disparition des nitrites et l’apparition éventuelle des nitrates. La seule façon précise de constater ces résultats est de faire des tests de nitrites (No2) et de nitrates (No3). 

Le cycle établi, il est maintenant possible d’ajouter les poissons sans trop de risques. Il faut y aller tranquillement que quelques individus à la fois, les colonies bactériennes sont encore bien jeunes et ne suffiraient pas à la tâche si trop de poissons semettaient à polluer le bac. Dans notre cas l’introduction d’axolotls qui au vu de leur taille provoquera une montée des nitrites sous quelques jours.Durant toute la période d’établissement du cycle, aucune intervention(changement d’eau, nettoyage du fond et des masses de filtration) ne doit êtrefaite dans le bac, au risque de ralentir considérablement le processus.Diagramme illustrant les différentes étapes du cycle de la nitrification. En abscisse on trouve une échelle graduée en jours et en ordonnée on trouve les concentrations en ppm (mg/L).Source : Tout l’Aquarium, Peter Hunnam, édition Bordas, Paris 1982

bacteries oase

ACCÉLÉRER LE CYCLE

Si vous avez un aquarium déjà colonisé (dont le cycle de l'azote a été complété déjà), il est possible d'ajouter un deuxième filtre (celui qui ira dans le nouvel aquarium) dans l'aquarium déjà colonisé durant une semaine pour que les bonnes bactéries s'y installent. Il est aussi possible de simplement transférer certaines masses filtrantes du filtre déjà colonisé dans le nouveau filtre. Il est fortement conseillé d'ajouter des décorations et du substrat de l'aquarium colonisé vers le nouveau puisque la majorité des bactéries se maintiennent sur des supports solides, et non dans l'eau.Une fois ces changements apportés, vous pourrez remplir le bac d'eau et y ajouter le filtre, le substrat et les décorations. Il faudra tester l'eau tous les 2/3 jours par la suite. (Des nitrites nous indiquent qu'il faut encore attendre mais des nitrates sont bon signe car ils confirment que l'aquarium est bien rôdé : en effet pour transformer des nitrites en nitrates il faut que les bactéries nitrobacter soient en place, donc il y a évidemment déjà eu pic de nitrites).Voici enfin une méthode à n'utiliser que lorsque l'on doit réensemencer un aquarium après un traitement (après avoir en général changé 50 % de l'eau de celui-ci puis filtrer pendant 5 jours sur charbon actif, donc les bactéries...Une marque recommandée par des spécialistes : Biockik de Oase, (ainsi que trois autres ici) utilisée par les grands aquariums de France et les zoos. Mais juste cette marque car vous en trouverez beaucoup en animalerie, vous n'aurez que l'embarras du choix. La plupart ne sont que poudre de perlinpinpin...Vous pourrez trouver ce petit pot  en animalerie ou sur internet aux environs de 9 € (pour traiter 5000 litres). On respecte les doses inscrites, afin d'éviter l'effet inverse et polluer son bac.

Mettre vos axolotls dans un bac type bac à vêtements en plastique assez spacieux, et avec chaque jour un changement d eau qui aura reposé au moins 24h afin de la déchlorer. L'idéal est donc d'avoir deux bacs de ce type pour avoir toujours de l'eau reposée et les changer de récipient chaque jour.

J'ai mes axolotls mais mon aquarium n'est pas fini de "rôder" ...

J'ai un souci important dans mon aquarium qui nécessite que j'en sorte mes axoltols..

site axolotls et cie

© 2013-2019 www.axolotls-cie.com

Toute reproduction du site, partielle ou complète, est interdite sans l'expresse autorisation de l'auteur.