mycose, branchies, traitement, axolotls

MYCOSES

&

FLAVOBACTERIUM

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

MYCOSES: MUSHROOMS

Symptoms :
A fine white fuzz develops on the affected part of the body. The mycosis very clearly has a cottony appearance. If it is the gills (very fragile), they will regress, and the animal, having trouble breathing, will stay permanently at the top of the aquarium. This could be the result of a wound. Too hot water also promotes yeast infection (it is considered that above 22 ° C the risks increase). Leftover food that has molded (hence the importance of making sure to clean the remains of their meals after 24 hours). ). Side effect following a treatment which will have reduced the immunity of axolotl. Or finally water that is too acidic (low Gh) or too hard (too high GH), in this case readjust these parameters:
see article . Many mycoses disappear on their own: we leave the axolotl alone with the lights off in his aquarium and we observe 12 hours later and 24 hours after. If the mycosis has not disappeared 24 to 48 hours after treatment is required.
Treatment: Prepare an infirmary tank in which you will have previously dissolved the non-iodized gray Guérande salt because it does not contain any added iodine, or the regenerating salt of dishwashers such as Apta, Calgonit (see section Pharmacy and necessary to buy for details), to do this prepare a box in advance with crushed salt, which will allow it to dissolve more easily. Once this is done, you can immerse your little patient in this tank. Otherwise you have Temerol (1.75 ml / 5 liters of water, for three days, changing the mixture every day) and esha 2000 in a pet store. You might as well prefer the first method, but if the damage is very important and the salt does not cure, switch to Temerol or Esha which gives good results (a reservation on Temerol to be used sparingly because of its many additives, Ketoderm was also recommended by the Montpellier veterinarian rather than Temerol , it remains stuck to the mycosis and does not dissolve in water allowing a very gentle and very effective.


DOSAGES:

Intensive treatment : Never more than 20 minutes in a salt bath, or 30 minutes twice in the morning and evening (recommended by a specialist veterinarian, because then this damages the skin and the gills, but ask on the group or site health section with photo in order to measure the severity of the mycosis!


Slight fungal infection: 1 teaspoon for 1 liter of water for 20 minutes then put it back in another infirmary tank overnight, to be repeated during the 3 days of treatment. If the yeast infection persists or was very extensive or severe; a shock treatment therefore with a doubled dose of salt: 2 teaspoons of salt for 1 liter of water. 15 minutes no more.


Last possibility three teaspoons of salt for 1 liter of water and 10 minutes only! This treatment can be continued for three days if necessary. But never again on this very important dosage! A salt bath is not harmless for the axolotl, it can if given in excess cause it more harm than good!

Permanent treatment involves a lower dosage 1 teaspoon per 10 liters of water. Rather in the case of an infectious bacteriological veil (with yellow spots). Important: the saline solution is never reused, it is thrown away after each treatment (and it is very necessary to wash the hospital tray because the bacteria deposit there) And this treatment cannot last more than 6 days.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

A fungal infection is also very well treated with Ketoderm (available in pharmacies), it is an ointment that has the advantage of being waterproof. (Advised by a specialist veterinarian in Montpellier).

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

creme mycoses, axolotl, ketoderm

Mycosis of the eyes

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

It is more precisely an opaque veil on the eye, this mycosis being of bacterial origin we recommend a treatment with Temerol or Esha 2000 over 3 days, or 6 days.

41eANsoOdKL.jpg
71h-abq7vTL._SL1000_.jpg

Flavobacterium Columnare

Lightning yeast infection caused by bacteria

We observe a mycosis which can start in the gills but very quickly end up on and in the mouth, on the tail, this mycosis is different from the classic mycosis that we often meet with our loulous. It is very thick and of an ultra fast advance then can take the whole palate and the mouth. Some axolotls which do not react to conventional treatment such as Temerol or the salt bath in this case the veterinarian recommended: 3 teaspoons in a liter of water for 30 minutes (yes you read that correctly) the first day then 2 teaspoons for 20 minutes on the second day and finally 3 teaspoons for 1 liter of water for a period of 10 minutes on the third day. Above all, we must not make the mistake of taking a banal mycosis for this infection, I repeat that the mycosis is 10 times thicker and progresses during the day, the animal no longer feeds equally. If you don't have something alive in your aquarium, you can't be concerned. This bacterium, called Flavobacterium * Columnare, is found in guppies (probably other fish but the case observed and studied by veterinarians concerns the guppy. This one can be a healthy carrier or not. If the axolotl swallows it) he will be infected but also by eating or sucking on the ground sand which will have been infected by the droppings of the guppies Treatment Marbosyl (broad spectrum antibiotic often prepared by the veterinarian himself, very volatile cannot be preserved) or Amoxiciline, the the first being more adequate but if your veterinarian does not have one he can direct you to the second Here are the dosages: with an insulin syringe for example, one unit (1ml per axolotls per 50 gram weight for 8 to 10 days in the food or in the mouth.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

* Columnaris disease is primarily an infectious epithelium that causes necrotic lesions of the gills and skin.
Infections can become systemic. Diseases are rarely spontaneous, but are influenced by several factors such as water temperature and other factors
such as low level of dissolved oxygen, high level of ammonia and organic load (NO2). The bacteria can also be carried by some freshwater fish and mussels. Some will be carriers but will not trigger the disease and others (eg rainbow trout) will die.

MYCOSES

&

FLAVOBACTERIUM

MYCOSES : CHAMPIGNONS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Symptômes : 
Un fin duvet blanc se développe sur la partie de l'organisme touchée. La mycose présente très nettement un aspect cotonneux. Si ce sont les branchies (très fragiles), celles-ci régresseront, et l'animal, ayant du mal à respirer, se tiendra en permanence en haut de l'aquarium. Cela peut-être   suite à une plaie. Une eau trop chaude favorise également les mycoses (on considère qu’au-dessus de 22°C les risques augmentent).Des restes de nourriture qui ont moisi (d’où l’importance de veiller à nettoyer les vestiges de leurs repas passé 24h). Effet secondaire suite à un traitement qui aura réduit l’immunité de l’axolotl. Ou enfin une eau trop acide (Gh bas) ou trop dure (GH trop haut), dans ce cas procéder à un réajustement de ces paramètres :
voir article Beaucoup de mycoses disparaissent d’elles-mêmes : on laisse l’axolotl tranquille lumières éteintes dans son aquarium et on observe 12 h après et 24h après. Si la mycose n’a pas disparu 24 à 48h après un traitement s’impose. 
Traitement : Préparez un bac infirmerie dans lequel vous aurez préalablement dissout le sel non iodé sel de Guérande gris car il ne contient aucun ajout d'iode, ou le sel régénérant de lave vaisselle type Apta, Calgonit (cf section Pharmacie  et nécessaire à acheter pour les détails) , pour ce faire préparez-vous une boite à l’avance avec du sel pilé, ce qui permettra à celui-ci de se dissoudre plus facilement. Une fois cela fait pour pourrez plonger votre petit malade dans ce bac. Sinon vous avez Temerol (1,75 ml/5 litres d'eau, pendant trois jours en changeant chaque jour le mélange) et esha 2000 en animalerie. Autant préférer la première méthode mais si l’atteinte est très importante et que le sel ne soigne pas passer au Témérol  ou à l'Esha qui donne de bons résultats (une réserve sur le Témérol à utiliser avec parcimonie en raison de ses nombreux additifs, le Ketoderm a été également préconisé par le vétérinaire de Montpellier plutôt que du Témérol, il reste collé à la mycose et ne se dissout pas dans l'eau permettant un soin tout en douceur et très efficace. 


DOSAGES :

Traitement  intensif : Jamais plus de 20 minutes dans un bain salé, ou 30 mn en deux fois matin et soir (préconisé par un vétérinaire spécialisé, car ensuite cela endommage la peau et les branchies, mais demander sur le groupe ou site section santé avec photo à l'appui afin de mesurer la gravité de la mycose ! 


Légère mycose : 1 cuillère à café pour 1 litre d’eau pendant 20 minutes puis on le remet dans un autre bac infirmerie jusqu’au lendemain, à répéter durant les 3 jours de traitement. Si la mycose persiste ou bien qu’elle était très étendue ou sévère ; un traitement choc donc avec une dose de sel doublée : 2 cuillères à café de sel pour 1 litre d’eau. 15 minutes pas plus. 


Dernière possibilité trois cuillères à café de sel pour 1 litre d’eau et 10 minutes uniquement ! On peut poursuivre ce traitement pendant trois jours si cela s’avère nécessaire. Mais jamais plus  sur ce dosage très important! Un bain de sel n'est pas anodin pour l'axolotl, il peut si donné en excès lui causer plus de tort que de bien !

Un traitement permanent implique un dosage plus faible 1 cuillère à café pour 10 litres d’eau. Plutôt dans le cas d’un voile bactériologique infectieux (avec taches jaunes).Important : on ne réutilise jamais la solution salée on la jette après chaque traitement (et l'on prend bien soir de laver soigneusement le bac hôpital car les bactéries s'y déposent) Et ce traitement ne peut durer plus de 6 jours.  

Un mycose se soigne également très  bien avec du Ketoderm (disponible en pharmacie), il s'agit d'une pommade qui présente l'avantage d'être imperméable. (Conseillé par un vétérinaire spécialisé sur Montpellier).
 

Les mycoses des yeux

Il s'agit plus précisément d'un voile opaque sur l’œil, cette mycose étant d'origine bactérienne l'on préconise un traitement avec le Temerol ou l'Esha 2000 sur 3 jours, ou 6 jours.

41eANsoOdKL.jpg
71h-abq7vTL._SL1000_.jpg

Flavobactérium Columnare

Mycose fulgurante dûe à une bactérie

L'on observe une mycose qui peut débuter dans les branchies mais très vite se retrouver sur et dans la bouche, sur la queue, cette mycose est différente de la classique mycose que l 'on rencontre souvent avec nos loulous. Elle est très épaisse et d'une avancée ultra rapide puis peut prendre tout le palais et la bouche. Certains axolotls qui ne réagissent pas au traitement classique tel le Temerol ou le bain de sel dans ce cas le vétérinaire à préconisé : 3 cuillère à café dans un litre d'eau pendant 30 mn (oui vous avez bien lu) le premier jour puis 2 cuillères à café pendant 20 mn le second jour et enfin 3 cuillères à café pour 1 litre d'eau pour une durée de 10 minutes, le troisième jour. Surtout il ne faut pas commettre l'erreur de prendre une banale mycose pour cette infection, je répète que la mycose est 10 fois plus épaisse et progresse dans la journée, l'animal ne se nourrit plus également. Si vous n'avez pas de vivant dans votre aquarium vous ne pouvez être concerné.Cette bactérie du nom de Flavobacterium* Columnare, se trouve présente dans des guppys (probablement d'autres poissons mais le cas observé et étudié par les vétérinaires concerne le guppy. Celui-ci peut être porteur sain ou non. Si l'axolotl le gobe il sera infecté mais également en mangeant ou aspirant au sol du sable qui aura été infecté par les déjections des guppys.Traitement Marbosyl (antibiotique à large spectre souvent préparé par le vétérinaire lui-même, très volatile ne se conserve pas) ou Amoxiciline, le premier étant plus adéquate mais si votre vétérinaire n'en a pas il pourra vous diriger vers le second.Voici les dosages : avec seringue à insuline par exemple, une unité (1ml par axolotls par poids de 50 grammes pendant 8 à 10 jours dans la nourriture ou bien dans la bouche.

*La maladie de Columnaris est principalement un épithélium infectieux qui provoque des lésions nécrotiques des branchies et de la peau.
Les infections peuvent devenir systémiques. Les maladies sont rarement spontanées, mais influencées par plusieurs éléments comme la température de l'eau et d'autres facteurs
tels qu'un faible niveau d'oxygène dissous, un niveau élevé d'ammoniaque et  de charge organique (NO2).  La bactérie peut également être transportée par certains poissons et moules d'eau douce. Certains seront porteurs mais ne déclencheront pas la maladie et d'autres (exemple la truite arc en ciel en mourront).

site axolotls et cie

© 2013-2019 www.axolotls-cie.com

Toute reproduction du site, partielle ou complète, est interdite sans l'expresse autorisation de l'auteur.